A la une

Date of posting : January 31, 2017

Guinean President Takes over as AU Chairperson

Guinean President, Alpha Conde, has been elected on Monday as the new chairperson of the African Union (AU).

African Heads of State are currently meeting at the 28th AU ordinary summit in Addis Ababa.

The Chairperson of the African Union is the ceremonial head of the Union. It is elected by the Assembly of Heads of State for a one-year term.

The AU chairperson will, in this capacity, chair the biannual summits and represent the continent in various international fora such as Tokyo International Conference on African Development (TICAD) The Forum on China–Africa Cooperation (FOCAC), the Group of 8 G8 and G20 summits.